And from the ground there blossoms red   3 comments

Peony

O Love that will not let me go,

I rest my weary soul in thee;

I give thee back the life I owe,

That in thine ocean depths its flow

May richer, fuller be.

 

O light that followest all my way,

I yield my flickering torch to thee;

My heart restores its borrowed ray,

That in thy sunshine’s blaze its day

May brighter, fairer be.

 

O Joy that seekest me through pain,

I cannot close my heart to thee;

I trace the rainbow through the rain,

And feel the promise is not vain,

That morn shall tearless be.

 

O Cross that liftest up my head,

I dare not ask to fly from thee;

I lay in dust life’s glory dead,

And from the ground there blossoms red

Life that shall endless be.

-George Matheson

3 responses to “And from the ground there blossoms red

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gorgeous peony. Does it ell exquisite?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,000 other followers

