Breakout   5 comments

Bars

Bars

(Rhyming poetry is not my usual style, but my thoughts came out in rhyme this time, so here you go.)

 

Breakout

There are no bars, but I am a prisoner,

held by the fear that loving brings pain,

afraid to break free from the guards of my feelings,

afraid to love others, afraid to attain.

 

Lord, I want to love them the way that you love me.

Teach me to care the same way that you do.

Open my soul to the gift of sweet sorrow,

that I might love in a way that is true.

 

I want to know You and Your risen power-

to know what’s it like to be held in Your heart,

to truly know love in the depths of my being

to love them with Your love –to know how to start.

 

Break my heart free from the prison of comfort.

Help me to press on to Your upward call,

giving up all that lies back there behind me.

Teach me to love, Lord, for You can do all.

 

A great post written to prisoners to be found here. (Language warning)

http://disciplegideon.wordpress.com/2012/12/12/waking-up-from-the-nightmare/trackback/

5 responses to “Breakout

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lovely, truly…
    Honesty pays eternal dividends.
    gideon

  2. Beautiful. May we all have our hearts broken.

    • The last time I prayed that he really rattled my world. He’s doing it again. Dangerous prayer. Compassion is not a feel-good experience, but it does bring us to be more dependent on God.

  3. Pingback: Comfort of the Heart | New Heaven on Earth!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,074 other followers

